Home   e-Library       中文 
e-Library Home |  Browse By Category |  Study the Bible    
What types of sin are there?

To sin is to miss the mark. When we fall short of God’s intention for us, then we sin. God has set out His intentions clearly in the Bible; His fundamental requirements are the Ten Commandments. And the essence of those 10 commandments can be distilled to these two:

  • You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul and mind.
  • You shall love your neighbor as yourself. (Mt 22:37-49)

When we fail to do so, then we sin. The Bible tells us we must put to death these sins: fornication, uncleanness, passion, evil desire, covetousness, anger, malice, blasphemy, filthy language, lying (Col 3:5-9; see also 1 Cor 6:9-10; Gal 5:19-21; Eph 5:3-7). Following the desires of our flesh will lead us to these sins.

Failure to do the good we know we should do is also sin (Jas 4:17; known as “sin of omission”). The good we know we should do is also derived from the two essential commandments. We need to be holy, faithful, merciful, kind, patient; meek and humble; forbearing and forgiving; loving to the point of sacrifice.

Publisher: True Jesus Church